music, guitars & other obsessions

AX84 SEL Build

I got tired of waiting for the KT88, so I decided to put in its place a 5881 I had laying around. It is a lower power tube, but should be plenty loud enough for home use.

I also discovered that the Ray Bean tonestack was completely mis-wired, even after I re-wired it, the amp still did not work, so I re-wired the whole thing again using a different design/layout as shown here:

Tonestack Schematic

A close-up shot of the tonestack board I made up, since there were too many components to fit on the turret board.

Tonestack board

And finally, the completed SEL layout:

Completed SEL

Now I am looking for a chassis for the amp…

Leave a Reply

