music, guitars & other obsessions

More ReValver Test

I am running more tests on the ReValver, not so much trying to find the best sounding patches, of which there are many. Instead I am focusing on how close its tube models can match those of the real amps, here is the basic setup for the exercise:

1) Use several DI-recorded clips, fed them via a reamp box directly to the SEL and record the speaker output with Ableton;
2) Sync and play the same clip via ReValver’s SEL patch;
3) Tweak the SEL model in ReValver to minimize the differences.

So far, the recordings just sound more even, and less distorted to me. After tweaking the drive, gain and output levels in ReValver, they can get pretty close but still not quite there – there are numerous variables that I have not played with, e.g., speaker and cabinet IR, mic used for the IR, pre and post EQ, etc. I am also running the ReValver without a tonestack as that just sucks out too much volume. So with enough time and effort, I think it should be possible to get them to sound very close.

But to be honest, when I play back both channels together with other background music, it is already very difficult to tell them apart, so if I were to do a full-blown track, I imagine both could sit equally well in the mix. That’s how good the ReValver is, and I imagine with other guitar modelers as well.

Since I am interested in designing and building amps, I need to know just how ReValver can be used as a design tool, so that still requires a bit more testing and fine-tuning… But so far the results look pretty promising.

Leave a Reply

