music, guitars & other obsessions

What To Do With the JBL-4730A?

As mentioned in the previous post, I have a few options to improve the performance of the 4730A, I chose to start with the easy one – getting rid of the bullet tweeter and the mid-woofer and replace them with the Markaudio Alpair 12 Gold, since the 2226H is a lot more efficient than the Alpair, I had to add a pad on the 2226H to bring its level down. While the Alpair is brand new and not broken it at all, a quick listen showed some promise, although when A/B between this setup and the Tannoy DMT12, it revealed that the JBL/Markaudio was far inferior, which was not really surprising since the Tannoy is a great studio monitor, unlike the kludgy solution that I came up with for the JBL/Markaudio.

2226H with Alpair 12 Gold

2226H with Alpair 12 Gold

Moving on… I went looking for other alternatives, and guess what, one of the more popular designs for Econowave uses the JBL 2226H driver – the 4Pi design by Pi Speakers seemed to be a winner, and I even have the D220Ti driver with the horn, how perfect is that?! I just need to order some parts to update the crossover and get some cabinet to house the horn, since I want to keep the 4730A original – but I will remove the existing crossover board from the speaker cabinet to make it easier for tweaking.  Another bonus, most of the components on the exisiting crossover can be re-used in the new 4Pi design, so that will save me some money on parts.

4730A Crossover Board

4730A Crossover Board

[Added on 9/24/2014]

I ordered some crossover components for the 4730A, here is the modified crossover:

Leave a Reply

